Headlines / NBA

Kevin Durant officially named 2013-2014 NBA MVP

05/06/2014 at 8:35 am By

kevin durantAfter coming in second for years, Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant has finally won his first MVP award.

Durant ran away with the voting, securing 119 of a possible 125 first place votes with LeBron James, who had won four of the past 5 MVPs, coming in second. Los Angeles Clippers forward Blake Griffin finished third in the voting, Joakim Noah from the Bulls fourth, and Houston Rockets guard James Harden fifth.

Here is the way the voting broke down:

Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City (1,232)
LeBron James, Miami (891)
Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers (434)
Joakim Noah, Chicago (322)
James Harden, Houston (85)
Stephen Curry, Golden State (66)
Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers (45)
Al Jefferson, Charlotte (34)
Paul George, Indiana (33)
LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland (26)

Durant had finished second in the voting to James in each of the past 2 seasons and averaged a career-high 32 ppg this past season along with 7.4 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game. The 6’9″+ scorer also shot .503 from the field, .391 from three and .873 from the free-throw line while appearing in 81 games and carried the Thunder to one of the NBA’s best records despite them missing teammate Russell Westbrook for a couple of long stretches this season.

The Thunder are currently facing the Clippers in the second round of the playoffs.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Powered by

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>