Headlines / NBA

Gregg Popovich named 2013-2014 NBA Coach of the Year

04/22/2014 at 8:16 am By

8073558Not often does the NBA’s best head coach win the Coach of the Year award, but apparently 2013-2014 is an exception to the trend.

According to reports, San Antonio Spurs long-time head coach Gregg Popovich will beĀ receiving the honor for this season and rewarded for managing the league’s best team in the competitive Western Conference.

Popovich takes home the award after leading the Spurs to anĀ NBA-best 62-20 record, despite dealing with one of the league’s oldest rosters and a few injuries along the way. Most mainstream media had fallen in love with wild card candidates Jeff Hornacek from the Suns and Bobcats head coach Steve Clifford after both lead their teams to better-than-expected records, but Popovich’s masterful tuning of his roster throughout the season earned him the honor that he could probably have won many of the past few seasons. 59 of 125 total first place votes went to Popovich for a total of 380 points, with Hornacek (339 points) and Chicago Bulls head coach Tom Thibodeau finishing second and third, respectively. Hornacek received 39 first place votes.

Popovich has twice won the award in the past — in 2003 after his second NBA Championship and again in 2012. Popovich, 65, is also the NBA’s longest-tenured coach, having been at the helm for the Spurs for 18 seasons.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Powered by

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>