Chicago Bears to retire Mike Ditka’s uniform No. 89

05/24/2013 at 8:35 am By


He was head coach of the Chicago Bears from 1982-1992. He led them to a 46-10 victory in Super Bowl XX over the New England Patriots, the only Super Bowl win in franchise history. As a player, Mike Ditka was among the greatest tight ends in NFL history.

Ditka was drafted by the Bears fifth overall in 1961 and would go on to play for them through 1966. He was a member of Chicago’s 1963 NFL championship team, selected to the Pro Bowl five times (1961-1965), and a five-time (1961-1965) All-Pro during his playing career. Ditka holds a top five spot on the Bears’ all-time list for receptions, receiving yards, and touchdown catches. In 1988 he became the first tight end elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Mike Ditka will become the fourteenth man in Chicago Bears history to have his number retired, joining Bronko Nagurski (#3), George McAfee (#5), George Halas (#7), Willie Galimore (#28), Walter Payton (#34), Gale Sayers (#40), Brian Piccolo (#41), Sid Luckman (#42), Dick Butkus (#51), Bill Hewitt (#56), Bill George (#61), Clyde Turner (#66), and Red Grange (#77).

A ceremony will take place during halftime of the Bears’ game against the Dallas Cowboys on December 9th.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Powered by

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>